Eurovisions. New Europeans seen by Magnum Photographers

The exhibition arises from the proposal of the Magnum Photos at the Pompidou Center in order to present a photographic mission using as a theme “the new europeans”, including the ten countries joined the European Union on the 1stof May 2004: Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Each of the ten Magnum photographers has chosen to explore a different country with a different motivation and a personal approach. For this reason the design of the exhibition of Milan’s Triennale has provided a room division with a one-way path in order to emphasize the individuality of each photographic project and give a different interpretation to the different typologies.

The graphic design has resumed the Parisian setting of the Pompidou Center in an adjustment that emphasizes the relationship between the ten photographers and the geography of the ten new countries joined the European Union. Exhibition authors: Carl De Keyzer, Martine Franck, Alex Majoli, Peter Marlow, Martin Parr, Mark Power, Lise Sarfati, Chris Steele-Perkins, Donovan Wylie, Patrick Zachmann.